Helen Hagemann lives in Perth, Western Australia. She was born in Sydney and grew up on the Central Coast of New South Wales. She won a Macquarie Longlines/Varuna poetry scholarship in 2008, has spent time in overseas writing residencies and has been accepted into two writing residencies in 2022 at Eramboo Artist Environment, Terrey Hills NSW in May and a KSP Fellowship in October 2022. Helen has two collections of poetry. "Evangelyne & Other Poems" was published by the Australian Poetry Centre, Melbourne (2009). Her second collection "of Arc & Shadow" was published by Sunline Press, Cottesloe WA (2013). Helen holds a Masters in Writing from Edith Cowan University, has taught prose and poetry in association with the OOTA Writers Inc. in Fremantle. Helen has three novels published, "The Last Asbestos Town" (2020), her second novel "The Ozone Café" was published in 2021, New York, USA. Her third novel "The Five Lives of Ms Bennett", a work carried out as a Masters in Writing (ECU) 2006, is published under the imprint Oz.one Publishing (2023).

Other Works

  • The Last Asbestos Town (2nd Edition)

  • Evangelyne & Other Poems - ebook

  • The Ozone Cafe

  • Of Arc & Shadow (Poetry - ebook)


Awards and Recognition

  • Featured author on the State Literature Centre's Podcast WritingWA with Ceo William Yeoman - https://www.buzzsprout.com/2193813/13399456-helen-hagemann-the-five-lives-of-ms-bennett