Alana White writes fiction and nonfiction for children and adults. The first novel in her historical mystery series, THE SIGN OF THE WEEPING VIRGIN, is set at the height of the Italian Renaissance in Florence, Italy. The book features powerful (real-life) Florentine lawyer and diplomat Guid'Antonio Vespucci and his nephew and secretary, Amerigo Vespucci (who later "discovered America"), as they investigate a plot involving a painting of the Virgin Mary that has begun weeping in the Vespucci family church, a missing girl, and Pope Sixtus IV's scheme to overthrow the Florentine Republic. The second book in the popular series, THE HEARTS OF ALL ON FIRE, will be available in Fall 2022.

Alana's first short fiction featuring the Vespucci family of Florence was a Mystery Readers International Macavity Award finalist. THE SIGN OF THE WEEPING VIRGIN was a Killer Nashville Silver Falchion finalist. THE HEARTS OF ALL ON FIRE is a finalist for the Chanticleer Geoffrey Chaucer Award. Her book reviews appear regularly in the Historical Novel Society "Historical Novels Review." Her lifelong fascination with Renaissance Italy has taken her to Florence for research on the Vespucci and Medici families on many occasions.

In addition to fiction set in 15th-century Florence, Alana is the author of COME NEXT SPRING, a Middle Grade coming-of-age novel set in the Smoky Mts. of Tennessee in the 1940s. ( COME NEXT SPRING: 25th Anniversary Edition/2016) She is also the author of a biography of Sacagawea, SACAGAWEA: WESTWARD WITH LEWIS AND CLARK. She is a member of the Author's Guild, the Historical Novel Society, and the Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators, as well as Sisters in Crime, Mystery Writers of America, and the Women's National Book Association. She lives in Nashville, TN.

Other Works

  • Come Next Spring: 25th Anniversary Edition


Awards and Recognition

  • Historical Novel Society "Editors' Choice"
  • Killer Nashville Silver Falchion Finalist