Born 1973 in Bielefeld, Germany, Nina George is a prize-winning international bestselling novelist (“Das Lavendelzimmer” – “The Little Paris Bookshop”, New York Times Besteller) and freelance journalist since 1992, who has published 28 books (novels, mysteries and non-fiction) as well as over hundred short stories and more than 600 columns.
Nina George has worked as a reporter and columnist for a wide range of publications.
George writes also under three pen-names, e.g. “Jean Bagnol”, a double-andronym for provence-based mystery novels.

In 2011, Nina George established the “JA zum Urheberrecht” (YES on Author’s Rights) initiative. 14 writers’ associations and 27 publishing partners have since joined the Initiative. In August 2014 George supported the Amazon-protest of the AG in Germany, where over 2000 germanspeaking authors – Nobelprizewinner Elfriede Jelinek or Bestsellingauthor Nele Neuhaus and Ferdinand von Schirach – signed an open letter to Jeff Bezos and Amazon, protesting against the banned-book-methods of the giant retailer in the Hachette/Bonnier-dispute. In 2015 George founded the Initiative Fair Book Market, 2016 she founded the Netzwerk Autorenrechte (Network Authorsrights), representing today 15.500 writers and translators of 14 member-associations.

From 2015-2019 George served on the board of German PEN, from 2017-2019 in the board of the German Writers’ Union VS. George sits also on the administrative board of Collecting Society VG Wort and is chair of the working group E-Book.

In June 2019 Nina George was elected as President of the European Writers’ Council.

Nina George is Member of PEN Germany and the PEN International Writers’ Circle, Das Syndikat, the Writers’ Union of Germany (VS), the IACW/AIEP (International Association of Crime Writers) and the Network of Authors of Fantastic Fiction.

She lives in Berlin and the Bretagne/ France.

Other Works

  • The Little French Bistro

  • The Little Paris Bookshop


Awards and Recognition

  • 2020: Ehrenglauser Award for the lifetime achievement on authors rights (GER) 2017: The Golden Auguste for the engagement for diversity and authors rights (GER) 2012: Glauser Award for the best mystery short story of the year (GER) 2011: Delia Award for the best romance novel of the year. (GER)