Brian Malloy's novels are The Year of Ice (St. Martin's Press), Brendan Wolf (St. Martin's Press), and the young-adult novel Twelve Long Months (Scholastic). His books have been a Book Sense pick, a New York Times "New and Notable" title, and a Booklist editors' choice. His new novel, After Francesco, is forthcoming from the John Scognamiglio Books imprint of Kensington Publishing in 2021.

Honors include the 2022 Bloomsday Award, 2021 Minnesota State Arts Board artist initiative grant, 2017 Loft Literary Center Excellence in Teaching Fellowship, 2009 Minnesota Book Award, and the 2003 American Library Association Alex Award.

His nonfiction has appeared in Out, The Readerville Journal, in the Lambda Literary Award-winning anthology The Man I Might Become (Marlowe & Co.), and Artists in the Attic (Beard Press).

Brian teaches creative writing and literature at the University of Minnesota, Hamline University, and The Loft Literary Center, and has served as a visiting writer at Ely Folk School, Emerson College (Boston), Lake Superior Writers (Duluth), Minnesota Correctional Facility - Lino Lakes, Quatrefoil Library, and Our Saviour's Transitional Housing and Shelter. He holds an MFA in Fiction from the University of Minnesota. Visit www.malloywriter.com.

Other Works

  • Twelve Long Months

  • Brendan Wolf

  • The Year of Ice


Awards and Recognition

  • Excellence in Teaching Fellowship - Loft Literary Center
  • Book List Editor's Choice for The Year of Ice
  • Finalist for Ferro-Grumley Award for Brendan Wolf
  • Minnesota Book Award for Twelve Long Months
  • Alex Award for The Year of Ice, American Library Association,
  • Minnesota State Arts Board Artist Grants
  • Bloomsday Award for After Francesco - Irish Network