Carla J. Underwood was born in Indiana and grew up in a small town in the northwest corner of the state. She understands both the challenges and the rewards of living in a small community. That knowledge is woven throughout all of her books.

Her first series includes three young-adult novels about 1950s rural Indiana. Her second series includes two contemporary, family-fiction novels about both Indiana and Montana. She has received enthusiastic praise from her readers for her historically accurate portrayal of each state's culture.

She and her husband live in a quaint Montana town not far from the university where they met. Together, they enjoy a wide variety of outdoor activities the state offers.

Other Works

  • The General Story Legacy

  • A Granddaughter's Promise; A Willowdale, Indiana Story

  • Mrs. Ivey's Cafe; A Willowdale, Indiana Story

  • A Dog's Life; A Willowdale, Indiana Story