W. Michael Farmer learned about the rich mosaic of historic figures depicted in his books while living in Las Cruces, New Mexico for fifteen years. He has a Ph.D. in Physics and has conducted atmospheric aerosol research. He has published short stories in anthologies, won awards for essays, and published essays in magazines. His first novel, Hombrecito's War, won a Western Writers of America Spur Finalist Award for Best First Novel in 2006 and was a New Mexico Book Award Finalist for Historical Fiction in 2007. His novels include: Hombrecito’s Search, Tiger, Tiger, Burning Bright: The Betrayals of Pancho Villa, Conspiracy: The Trial of Oliver Lee and James Gililland, and Killer of Witches, the Life and Times of Yellow Boy, Mescalero Apache.

Other Works

  • Conspiracy, The Trial of Oliver Lee and James Gililland

  • Broken Promises

  • In Good Company, Volume nine, A Book of Secrets

  • Hombrecito's Search

  • Maud Wright

  • Death and Life at Aqua Pieta

  • Outlaws and Lawmen

  • Hombrecito's War

  • Tiger, Tiger, Burning Bright, The Betrayals of Pancho Villa

  • In Good Company, Volume eight, Death Track


Awards and Recognition

  • Hombrecito's War 2006 Spur Finalist for Best First Novel
  • Hombrecito's War 2007 Finalist for New Mexico Book Awards Best Historical Fiction
  • The Agnes L. Braganza Award for Nonfiction, Second Place, "Life Behind the Counter", 2010 CNU Writer's Conference
  • The Agnes L. Braganza Award for Nonfiction, Second Place, "Life's Leftovers," 2011 CNU Writer's Conference